IBKR vs TradeStation Simulator: paper trading compared
Interactive Brokers Paper Trading is a broker demo; TradeStation Simulator is a broker demo. Here is how their paper trading compares using only facts from provider pages and cited reviews (see each listing's sources).
Price: IBKR — Free; TradeStation Simulator — Free with account. Market data: IBKR — Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions; TradeStation Simulator — Free real-time data for non-professionals (funded account required).
Account: IBKR — Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval); TradeStation Simulator — Funded TradeStation account required. Virtual balance: IBKR — US$1,000,000 (paper account); TradeStation Simulator — Unlimited paper dollars. Reset: IBKR — Yes (Client Portal); TradeStation Simulator — Yes (balance resets).
Markets: IBKR — global (170+ markets per eggplantstockinvest); TradeStation Simulator — US. Platforms: IBKR — desktop (TWS), web, mobile; TradeStation Simulator — desktop, web, mobile.
Key differences in our data: IBKR adds bonds, crypto, forex, metals; TradeStation Simulator adds mutual funds.
Pick the one that matches the market you plan to trade and the country you live in — the availability rows below show which countries each provider confirms.
| Interactive Brokers Paper Trading | TradeStation Simulator | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | broker demo | broker demo |
| Markets | global (170+ markets per eggplantstockinvest) | US |
| Assets | stocks, ETFs, options, futures, forex, crypto, bonds, metals | stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, futures |
| Data | Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions | Free real-time data for non-professionals (funded account required) |
| Price | Free | Free with account |
| Account | Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval) | Funded TradeStation account required |
| Starting balance | US$1,000,000 (paper account) | Unlimited paper dollars |
| Reset | Yes (Client Portal) | Yes (balance resets) |
| Replay | unknown | unknown |
| Platforms | desktop (TWS), web, mobile | desktop, web, mobile |
| Limits | Full paper account requires approved live account | Requires funded account |
| Country availability | Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US, UK, IN, AU, CA Paper account follows IBKR's accepted-countries list; free-trial eligibility not stated separately | Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US Separate TradeStation Global/EU simulators exist; country eligibility for funded accounts not confirmed here |
| Available in US | Available (verified) | Available (verified) |
| Available in UK | Available (verified) | Unverified |
| Available in IN | Available (verified) | Unverified |
| Available in AU | Available (verified) | Unverified |
| Available in CA | Available (verified) | Unverified |
FAQ
Is IBKR or TradeStation Simulator free for paper trading?
IBKR: Free. TradeStation Simulator: Free with account.
Which has real-time data, IBKR or TradeStation Simulator?
IBKR: Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions. TradeStation Simulator: Free real-time data for non-professionals (funded account required).
Do IBKR and TradeStation Simulator require an account?
IBKR: Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval). TradeStation Simulator: Funded TradeStation account required.
Where are IBKR and TradeStation Simulator available?
IBKR: Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US, UK, IN, AU, CA Paper account follows IBKR's accepted-countries list; free-trial eligibility not stated separately . TradeStation Simulator: Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US Separate TradeStation Global/EU simulators exist; country eligibility for funded accounts not confirmed here .
More comparisons
Lists with both
Information only, not financial advice. Simulated results do not predict real results. Features and availability change and vary by country; check the provider's site. Sponsored or affiliate links, if any, are labelled.